Course formats dictate the look and feel of a given course page, they can alter the way elements are presented to a user and the way in which you can customise the visual appearance of the course. This guide will show you how to use the “Tiles” course format.
Step 1 - Navigate
You can find the Course Format settings within the settings page of your course by going to:
*Course name* > Settings > Course format
Step 2 - Tiles format
From within the Course Format settings area, you can select the required format by using the format drop-down menu. By default all courses are created using the Topics format, so this will need to be changed to the Tiles format option.
Tiles format appearance
The tiles format allows you to display each section of content under a separate “Tile”. Users can see all tiles from within the course, but will have to click into each to access the activities contained. In the example below you can see how this would appear to a user.
Editing the Tiles format
To add a new tile to the course, enable “Edit mode” using the toggle in the top right of the page and then click the “Add tile” button to add in a new tile. For example, to add a new tile below the current “Tile 1” you would click the “Add tile” button directly below this.
You can also edit the ordering of topics (or the activities included within them) by using the navigation menu on the left of the course page. With “Edit mode” enabled, you’ll be able to drag and drop topics to move their positioning within the course.
You can edit the colours or icons used for all of the tiles from within the course format settings, as shown below:
If you wish to add a specific icon or an image to an individual tile instead you can do this by clicking on the 3 dots to the right of the tiles name and click “Edit settings” and then go to “Pick a new icon or background photo”, as shown below, to upload a specific image to use as the cover image for the tile.
Please note, the Tiles format is a 3rd party plugin and as such we cannot guarantee how long this plugin will be available for or for that matter, what changes the plugin provider may choose to make to the tool going forward.
Step 3 - Save
Once you have selected the correct course format and saved these changes you can then make any required adjustments to the tiles included within the course and these will automatically be saved. If you change the course format following this, then any settings made in relation to the original course format will be lost.