The use of Backups and Restores is somewhat limited for particular uses on the system, but this can be a very useful feature to use if appropriate. The main 2 uses for backups and restores are to enable you to backup a Course with all the user information if you need to make changes to activities or content, please note that any changes made to modules that remove data by accident will still have a knock on effect to the Course Completion even if a backup is used to revert the data. The second use is to move parts of Courses to other Courses on your site, allowing you to save time when creating custom Courses from multiple locations.
The "Backup" and "Restore" function can be accessed from multiple places and depending upon where you are when activated will allow different functions.
The Backup function will only be possible to access from within a Course or within the Site Administration > Courses > Manage Courses & Categories area.
Once you have completed a Backup you will be sent to the system Backup area, the Backups you create will exist on the site within the Course that you created them, please be aware that by default the Backups held on the system will only be visible to only yourself, while there is a function to allow you to make visible for every Admin on the system.
The Restore function will only be possible when you first have a file from a completed Backup, this can be accessed from within a Course or within the Site Administration > Courses > Restore Course area.
This particular function is slightly more complicated than creating the Backup file itself, this requires a file from a backup made on your Moodle platform, meaning you cannot simply use a backup made on another Moodle site as the Backup is specifically linked and only able to be used on the Site of creation.
Restoring with a Backup file
The Restore Process 7 Steps
This page will show you what is contained within the backup file, including all options and settings that may have been set when creating the backup and also if the backup contains any user data.
Step 2 - Destination Options
Restoring as a New Course
Merging within an Existing Course
Restoring into an Existing Course
The Restore process will allow you to check and ensure you have allowed and disallowed anything you may or may not want to be restored on several occasions throughout the Restore steps, while also allowing you to rename the Course if creating a new Course on your site. The Topics within the Backup will be created if merging onto a existing Course where they do not already exist, while also merging any activities into existing Topics if already created on the Course, this can mean that for best restore purposes into existing Courses that you count the Topics that already exist and count how many Topics are to be restored and push the existing content further down into Topics that will not have content restored into to stop confusion creating by merging several topics together.
If you are restoring New Courses with user data attached to activities then be aware that this will automatically enrol users to the new Course and they may be able to access this Course, it is best advised that if you are creating new Courses to no bring any user data over when restoring the Backup.