Submit a ticket My Tickets
Welcome
Login  Sign up
Open navigation

Review Mode - What is it and Why Does it Happen?

Sometimes users may see the words "Review Mode" in the top left hand corner of a course screen. It's important to know that when in Review Mode your progress will NOT be saved. Review Mode is triggered by your previous lesson status and it's functionality serves two purposes:


1. To prevent accidental overwrite of a previous completed or passing status

2. To allow users to Review or Practice a course without registering an official attempt.


The Review Mode works in conjunction with an option that may sometimes appear when launching a course module. This option is to "Start New Attempt" and is a tick box that when selected, instructs the system you're intending to record a brand new attempt. The tick box won't always appear but is triggered by the previous lesson status as follows:


Incomplete - if you're attempting a module for the first time or are resuming an incomplete attempt then you will be allowed to resume from your last saved point or start from the beginning. Note that this is NOT a new attempt but resuming the existing attempt at a point of your choosing. The tick box for "Start New Attempt" will not be shown


Failed - For Test style modules where a score is recorded you will receive the lesson status of Failed if you don't achieve the required grade. When you next launch the course the option to Start New Attempt is shown. If you select this option your previous attempt remains recorded in the system and a new attempt is recorded (attempt 2, attempt 3 etc). This is important for compliance and reporting purposes. It may be that you only allow a maximum number of attempts on a test and need to record this to highlight where users may need further guidance or learning. If you do NOT select the option to start new attempt then Review Mode is triggered. The user will be allowed to progress through the course but the attempt will not be recorded. This prevents their previous Fail being overwritten and also gives users a chance to practice or review the test before committing to another attempt.


Passed - For Test style modules where a score is recorded you will receive the lesson status of Passed if you achieve the required grade. When you next launch the course the option to Start New Attempt is shown. If you select this option your previous attempt remains recorded in the system and a new attempt is recorded (attempt 2, attempt 3 etc). If you do NOT select the option to start new attempt then Review Mode is triggered. The user will be allowed to progress through the course but the attempt will not be recorded. This prevents their previous Pass being overwritten and also gives users a chance to practice or review the test before committing to another attempt


Completed - If you have previously completed the module, you won't want to accidentally overwrite your previous completed status. When you next launch the module the Start New Attempt option is shown.If you do NOT select the option to start new attempt then Review Mode is triggered. The user will be allowed to progress through the course but the attempt will not be recorded. This prevents their previous completed status being overwritten and also gives users a chance to practice or review the module before committing to another attempt.

T
Tim is the author of this solution article.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.